St Triduana’s Chapel, History, Architecture, Scottish Building, Date, Location
St Triduana’s Chapel, Edinburgh
Restalrig Building, Lothian, eastern Scotland
28 Oct 2015
St Triduana’s Chapel Edinburgh
Address: Restalrig Collegiate Church off Restalrig Road South, east Edinburgh
St Triduana’s Chapel
The lower part of a chapel built by James III, housing the shrine of St Triduana, a Pictish saint. The Hexagonal vaulted chamber at St Triduana’s is reputedly unique.
Located in the Restarig district of Edinburgh, St. Triduana’s Well comprises a low hexagonal building lying next to St Margaret’s Parish Church.
Built for King James III (1452-88) around 1477, by the Logan family, it comprised two storeys; a lower rib-vaulted well-house and an upper chapel which no longer exists. Water from the well-house was used to treat diseases of the eye, following St. Triduana’s ability to heal the blind.
The lower floor was later used as a burial vault for the Logans, who possessed the Barony of Restalrig. The well-house, which had become entirely buried, was exposed and subjected to a major restoration in 1906.
Only after continual flooding was it was realised that this was St. Triduana’s Well rather than a family chapel.
The St Triduana’s Chapel restoration work was by Thomas Ross for James Francis Stuart, the 16th Earl of Moray (1842 – 1909). It included the installation of the current roof & replacement of buttresses, resulting in little mediaeval stonework.
Opening Times: Arrange access to St Triduana’s Chapel
Mon – Fri, 9am to 5pm
by contacting St Margaret’s Parish Church, Restalrig, on 0131 554 7400
Historic Edinburgh Buildings
photo © Adrian Welch
Comments / photos for the St Triduana’s Chapel Architecture page welcome
St Triduanas Chapel Edinburgh Building – page